English Russian

Press Releases


Professor Jean-Laurent Mallet Presented with the EAGE Erasmus Award 2011

The Erasmus Award honors an EAGE member in recognition for their outstanding and lasting achievement.

(VIENNA: May 23, 2011) Paradigm™ (www.pdgm.com) is pleased to announce that Professor Jean-Laurent Mallet, senior research fellow at Paradigm, has been chosen to receive the Erasmus Award 2011, in recognition of the nature, scope and impact of his lifelong research. The European Association of Geoscientists & Engineers (EAGE) presents this award every year to one of its members for their lifetime contribution in the field of resource exploration and development. This year, the award was presented to Prof. Mallet by the President of EAGE, Davide Calcagni, the Vice-President of EAGE, John Underhill and the Chairman of the Awards Committee, Don Milne, today at the opening session of the 73rd EAGE Conference & Exhibition in Vienna, Austria.
“EAGE consider the award of their members as the maximum and most tangible recognition of their contribution and relentless support to the development and progress of the profession and the geosciences in general,” said Davide Calcagni. “Prof. Mallet is a remarkable example of such dedication.”

“Looking at the caliber of the past Erasmus Award recipients, I am truly honored to be addeProfessor Jean Laurent Mallet Presented with the EAGE Erasmus Award 2011d to the list,” said Professor Jean-Laurent Mallet. “I would like to share this honor with all my friends of GOCAD and SKUA development team who shared my enthusiasm and ideas during the last 20 years."

“We are of course very proud that the distinguished Erasmus Award be bestowed on Professor Mallet. His leadership of the GOCAD consortium since 1990 provided the energy industry with the first modeling technologies suitable for structural and reservoir property workflows,” said Eldad Weiss, chief executive officer of Paradigm. “His more recent work on the SKUA framework has redefined modeling, removing the need for compromises and data simplification, while making geologically-consistent model building accessible to a much wider user community.”
Paradigm will acknowledge Prof. Mallet’s achievement during the Paradigm 2011 Industry Briefing on Wednesday, May 25, at 2:15 PM CEST, at the Paradigm booth 1445. EAGE attendees are welcome to visit Prof. Mallet during his presence at the booth.
Prof. Mallet is the author of “Numerical Earth Models,” a scientific book that explores the breakthrough Subsurface Knowledge Unified Approach technology that underlies the Paradigm SKUA® modeling environment.  He is also the founder of the GOCAD Consortium dedicated to the 3D modeling and visualization of the subsurface since 1990. Some of the past awards Prof. Mallet has received for his contribution in research include:
  • 2009 SEG Distinguished Achievement Award by the Society of Exploration Geophysicists (SEG)
  • 2005 Marcel Roubault prize by the Union of French geologists (UFG)
  • 2004 Grand Prix Dolomieu prize by the French Academy of Sciences
  • 2000 Anthony Lucas Gold Medal by the Society of Petroleum Engineering (SPE)
  • 1997 Italgas Prize by the International Scientific Committee
To reserve your seat at the Paradigm 2011 Industry Briefing, or for any media inquiry, please email samhita.shah@pdgm.com. For more information on Paradigm products and services, please visit www.pdgm.com, or e-mail info@pdgm.com.
About Paradigm
Paradigm (www.pdgm.com) is the largest multi-national software company exclusively focused on the delivery of analytical and information management solutions for the discovery and extraction of subsurface natural resources. Serving the oil & gas and mining industries since 1987, Paradigm, with its 700 employees, operates globally via its 31 client service, technology and administrative facilities located in 27 countries.
The following are trademarks or registered trademarks of Paradigm Ltd. or of its subsidiaries (collectively, “Paradigm”): Paradigm™, Paradigm logo and/or other Paradigm products referenced herein. All other trademarks are owned by their respective owners.